Chief Justice of India Uday Umesh Lalit is retiring on November 8.
The government asked CJI Lalit to name his successor.
Justice Chandrachud could be the 50th Chief Justice of the country.

New Delhi: Chief Justice of India Uday Umesh Lalit is retiring on November 8. In such a situation, the central government has started the exercise regarding his successor. The central government has written to 49th CJI Uday Umesh Lalit, asking him to nominate his successor. The news agency PTI has reported this with reference to sources.

Sources said that this letter has been sent by the Ministry of Law on Friday morning. Chief Justice U U Lalit i.e. Uday Umesh Lalit is retiring on November 8. Justice DY Chandrachud is the senior most judge after CGI Lalit and is the main contender for the post. It is believed that Chief Justice Lalit may nominate the senior-most judge as his successor. According to this tradition, only Justice Chandrachud can be the 50th Chief Justice of the country.

In fact, it is only a month before the retirement of Chief Justice Lalit, who was sworn in as the Chief Justice of India by President Draupadi Murmu on August 27 at the Rashtrapati Bhavan. He replaces former CJINV Ramana, who retired on 26 August 2022.

Former CJINV Ramana had recommended Justice Lalit as his successor keeping in mind the principles of tradition and seniority. The President then confirmed the appointment of Justice Lalit as the new CJI.

Who is CJI Lalit?
Justice YU Lalit started his practice in Bombay High Court in June 1983. Here he practiced till 1985 and from 1986 to 1992 he was with former Attorney General Soli Saurabhji. He was nominated as a senior advocate by the Supreme Court in 2004. Justice Uday Umesh Lalit is an expert in criminal law. He was promoted directly from the Bar as a Judge of the Supreme Court on 13 August 2014. He was then appointed acting chairman of the National Legal Services Authority in May 2021. He has participated in trials as Public Prosecutor of CBI in all 2G cases under orders of Supreme Court. He has also served two terms as a member of the Legal Services Committee of the Supreme Court.

Tags: Supreme Court

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *